Gå til

About Horizon Europe


Horizon Europe is the EU's major framework program for research and innovation, which will replace Horizon 2020.

Horizon Europe opens the 1 January 2021 and will lasts until 2027. It is structured in three main pillars, as well as a number of special sub-programs outside the pillar structure.

The program supports researchers and industry throughout the research and innovation cycle. Furthermore, with the program, the EU is preparing for a new generation of ambitious European partnerships to support the EU's policy objectives, including the green transition.


Support for scientific excellence and global challenges

The first pillar of the program, entitled Scientific Excellence, supports researchers conducting bottom-up or basic research. It consists of the European Research Council (ERC), Marie Skłodowska-Curie activities (MSCA) and Research Infrastructures.

The second pillar, Global Challenges and European Industrial Competitiveness, focuses on interdisciplinary cooperation in the areas of health, accessibility, digital, industrial competitiveness for climate, energy, mobility, natural resources and food systems. The pillar consists of six clusters based on the aforementioned areas.


At the conference you can hear about the following clusters and cross-cutting themes:



Horizon Europe has five research and innovation missions across Pillar 2. The European Commission has set up five Mission Boards with experts from across Europe to find solutions to some of Europe's biggest challenges. The missions will involve citizens in broad-based projects, such as plastics in the oceans and the fight against cancer.


Support to innovation

Finally, the third pillar, Innovative Europe, focuses on groundbreaking and market-creating innovation, among other things. The European Innovation Council (EIC) is located here. The EIC supports innovative innovations from companies using the new instruments "Pathfinder" and "Accelerator".


Read more:

Read more on the European Commission's website HERE


Speakers at Horizon Europe kick-off conference

Ane Halsboe-Jørgensen

Danish Minister for Higher Education and Science                                                           

Ane Halsboe-Jørgensen was elected to the Danish Parliament for the first time in 2011. She is a member of The Social Democratic Party. On June 27 2020, she became the minster for Higher Education and Science. Cand.scient.pol. from University of Copenhagen, from 2004 to 2009. Consultant in  Danish Confederation of Trade Unions from 2009 to 2011.

Mariya Gabriel

European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth                                           

In 2019 nominated to be European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth. Before that European Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society from 2017-2019. From 2009-2014 Member of the European Parliament. Vice-President of the EPP Group in the European Parliament 2014-2017. Vice-President of the EPP Women 2012- present. Master in Comparative Politics and International Relations, PhD Academy for Political Science, Bordeaux, France 2002-2003.

Lars Frølund

Research Director, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Chair of the EIC Expert Group

Lars Frølund’s research focuses on partnerships between universities and industry, innovation ecosystems and mission driven research and innovation agencies. He is chair of the international expert group which advices the EU Commission on the implementation of the European Innovation Council. He is a member of the board of Innovation Fund Denmark and was Fullbright Scholar at MIT in 2016/2017.

Connie Hedegaard

Chair of the board, CONCITO and Chair of the board of the Horizon Europe Mission ’Adaptation to Climate Change including Societal Transformation’                   

Connie Hedegaard is chair of the Horizon Europe Climate Mission board and was the first EU Commissioner for climate from 2010-2014. She has been the Danish minister for environment, climate and energy as well as Member of European Parliament. Besides a political career, Connie Hedegaard has been a prominent journalist.

Thomas Bjørnholm

Executive Chief Scientific Officer, Villum Fonden                           

Thomas Bjørnholm have a Ph.D. in Materials Chemistry from University of Copenhagen and have been the Executive Chief Scientific Officer in the foundation, Villum Fonden, since 2018. Before, he was Pro-rector for Research and Innovation and Deputy Rector at University of Copenhagen.

Per Michael Johansen

Rector, Aalborg University                              

Per Michael Johansen is rector at Aalborg University since 2014. He has a doctorate in physics from University of Copenhagen and has former been Dean at University of Southern Denmark. Besides, he is member at the board at many organizations who works with research and innovation.

David Dreyer Lassen

Chairman of the board, Independent Research Fund Denmark               

David Dreyer Lassen is chairman of the board in Independent Research Fund Denmark. He has a Ph.D. in Economics from the University of Copenhagen and now works as a professor at the University. In 2016, he received the Elite Research price by The Danish Ministry of Science and Higher Education.

Anders Overgaard Bjarklev

President, Technical University of Denmark                        


Anders Overgaard Bjarklev is an educated electronicengineer and dr.techn. from Technical University of Denmark. He has more than 25 years of experience with research and have been the president of the Technical University of Denmark.

Annemarie Munk Riis

Deputy Director General, Innovation Fund Denmark

Annemarie Munk Riis is the Deputy Director General at Innovation Fund Denmark. She has a master in economics from University of Copenhagen. Annemarie is co-founder at the IRIS Group Aps and former Head of Division for at The City of Copenhagen.